Dobro Došli

Hello from Serbia!

Welcome to Phase 3 of this little adventure! After the Camino (Phase 1) and my five weeks of independent travel (Phase 2), I’m beyond excited to check in from Belgrade! Here’s what’s new:

On Monday, I traveled from Timișoara, Romania to Belgrade via minibus– and finally got to the city after making our way around THREE enormous tractor-made road barricades formed by striking agriculture workers. My study abroad program, which lasts through December, began that afternoon. Staying in Belgrade and beginning school again is going to be quite a change-of-pace from the last few months! I’m looking forward to having organization and a game plan- and to not being solely responsible for planning each and every moment of each and every day. My 5 weeks of travel were incredible, but I’m really going to enjoy letting go and letting someone else do that job for a while. 🙂

I’m excited to stay put for a few weeks. As students and not tourists, we get to explore Belgrade slowly and, we hope, more thoroughly. On Friday, I’ll finally meet my host family and full unpack for the first time in three months!

I’m also happy we get to keep traveling. Apart from group excursions to Bosnia and Kosovo, I want to see more of the Balkans. And I’m already planing on revisiting Novi Sad (to eat here and here) the next time I need a quick vegan fix.

Technology-wise, I think I’ve finally got all my ducks in a row. Hopefully, now that I’m reunited with my laptop I’ll be better about keeping this space up-to-date.

In honor of Vegan MoFo (Vegan Month of Food), which is taking over the food blogging community this month, I’ll be paying tribute to some of my favorite plant-based discoveries across the continent!

I’ve also got a lot of catching up to do! Two months and several countries later, I’m very excited to recap all the places I’ve been and things I’ve seen. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Dobro Došli

Leave a Reply

