Hoş Geldiniz

A quick note: Apologies for being an incompetent blogger! I thought I posted this in mid-June (thus the now-untimely references to Ramazan and the first week of CLS Bursa). It goes to show, though, how I’ve neglected this space in the intervening weeks. For convenience, though, I’m leaving this post as-written in June. Sorry!

IMG_5415

My first few days in Bursa definitively deserve more words than I will provide here, but– after many late nights– I’m determined to break the pattern today! In the meantime, here is Bursa, in a few pictures:

IMG_5432

Bursa views (manzara) from Tophane

I live in Nilüfer, a section of Bursa where the majority of other CLS participants are also staying. My particular spot in Nilüfer is near a street called Fatıh Sultan Mehmet or “FSM.” According to students I’ve spoken to, FSM is apparently the place to be. The boulevard is a fairly quiet now because of Ramazan, but it sounds like we can expect it to get more crowded (kalabalık) after Ramazan ends in July.

IMG_5520

Fatıh Sultan Mehmet Mosque, the focal point of the street– and a building I pass each day on the way to school

During Ramazan, though, the street still buzzes at certain times of day. Every night, a little before 9pm, the mosque lights up and the streets fill with people for iftar, the breaking of the day’s fast. Tuesday, I walked around FSM as the muezzin called and the neighborhood flooded with families. It was an interesting time to be out and about!

Yesterday, I did a bit of wandering around my part of Nilüfer, breaking off from the main drag of FSM. I started by playing a game I’m calling, for now, “follow-the-minaret.” It’s as simple as it sounds: find a minaret on the horizon and walk until you find it. While I lost sight of my original destination, it ultimately led to this discovery:

IMG_5542

And then other surprises:

IMG_5554 IMG_5557

Apart from stumbling upon the mosques, this particular walk was great for a couple of reasons. For one, walking has become my favorite way to get to know any city. I actually wrote about that in my CLS application, but–in the intervening months–I’d forgotten how important a tool it can be. Riding the metro to school every day masked just how much I love the observations you can have while walking. For another, I got off the beaten track and wandered through a neighborhood where laundry hung from balconies, children played in side streets, and grandmothers chatted through grated windows. And finally, it was just plain healthy–both mentally and physically– to just put foot to pavement after spending so much time sitting still.

On this walk, I also stumbled across patch after patch of these flowers:

IMG_5533

They are fairly pretty up-close, but they also line the highways and–as we saw on our drive from Istanbul to Bursa–are absolutely gorgeous from afar.

IMG_5440

In one of Nilüfer’s quirks, the neighborhood has miles of well-kept bike lines (seriously, they’re both the safest and the cleanest I’ve ever seen). However, in four days here, I’ve only seen one guy on a bike. And he was riding along the sidewalk.

IMG_5532

This doesn’t seem to happen here

Bursa proper is quite crowded with people, cars, and normal city life. However, green spaces like Atatürk Kent Ormanı and Kültürpark provide a nice respite. I’ve already made two trips to the first (Atatürk City Forest)– Wednesday night for a barbecue (mangal) and again this afternoon for a CLS-sponsored picnic.

IMG_5503

A good place for “biraz sessiz”–a little silence

The scene above provided the backdrop for Wednesday’s cookout. We stayed close to the tables and fire pits, though, and I’d love to go back and explore further. And, just for kicks, here I am below “helping” with the mangal (although this was purely a photo-op; they took the tongs back immediately).

IMG_5496

And finally, we’ll wrap things up with a nighttime view of my favorite homework spot:

IMG_5575

Görüşürüz, arkadaşlar!

2 thoughts on “Hoş Geldiniz

  1. Hi Laurren, Aunt Merry & Uncle Dave loved seeing and reading your blog / adventure. We look forward to reading and seeing more photos in the future.

    Love Uncle Zdave

Leave a Reply

